Texas State Board of Public Accountancy
  
   William Treacy, Executive Director   Home       Exam Candidates      Licensees 

 
Exam Candidate Links  
exam candidate information
Licensing Links
licensee information for individuals and firms
 
NOTICE TO MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, VETERANS AND SPOUSES

Link to Board Rules
 
Board Links   
Contact the Board
License Lookup
CPA Verify (NASBA)
Texas State Board Reports
Candidate Chronicles
University Pass Rates
Proposed Rules
Uniform Accountancy Act
CPA mobility (NASBA)
Board Rules
The Act
Filing a Complaint
Forms
Peer Review
Frequently Asked Questions
Employment
Archive
 
 
505 E. Huntland Drive, Suite 380, Austin, TX 78752-3757
The mission of the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy is to protect the public by ensuring that persons issued certificates as certified public accountants possess the necessary education, skills, and capabilities and that they perform competently in the profession of public accountancy.
Texas Capitol

TSBPA General Information

Important News Alerts!    Important News Alerts!    Important News Alerts!

February 16, 2024
Risk Management and the Corporate Transparency Act (including sample engagement letter)
Reference this resource from the AICPA to learn how to mitigate the unique risks CPA firms may encounter when delivering CTA compliance/BOI reporting services. A sample engagement letter is included. More Info

February 8, 2024
Firm License Renewals due March 31, 2024 can now be paid Online
Use Online Services for Firms to manage all phases of the annual renewal process.

February 8, 2024
Individual License Renewals due March 31, 2024 can now be paid Online
Use Online Services for Individuals to manage all phases of the annual renewal process.

November 10, 2023
Ernst & Young LLP Assessed Reprimand and $3M Penalty by Texas Board
More Info

October 17, 2023
CPE Sponsor Dissolution
As of 10/17/23, CPE sponsor Global CPE (009655) is dissolved.

October 13, 2023
Applicant Reassessment Program
The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy launched an Applicant Reassessment Program (ARP) to assist individuals who were taking the CPA Exam and through an extreme hardship occurrence, lost CPA Exam credits and may wish to pursue the CPA designation again. Learn More

August 11, 2023
Individual License Fee Increase
As a result of the Board's projected revenue, expenditures, and fund balances, modest fee increases are necessary to maintain the same level of operations for Texas licensees. Effective September 1, 2023, the annual individual license fee will increase from $85 to $97 (includes $10 scholarship fee). All other fees will remain the same. The Board is self-sustaining. All direct and indirect costs must be paid from what it collects in license renewal fees, firm registrations, exam fees, sponsor registrations, and other collections. The following table can be used as a general guide, but your individual fees may vary depending on your specific circumstances, the timing of your previous payments, and your current status with the Board. Please refer to Online Services for Individuals to check your specific status.

Fees Table

July 10, 2023
Email License Expiration Notices
Effective immediately, the Board will exclusively email license expiration notices to licensees with email addresses on file. Mailed reminders will no longer be sent, unless the Board does not have your email address on file. Use Online Services on the Board's website to ensure your email and mailing addresses are up-to-date and you receive important Board notifications.

May 22, 2023
Scholarship Program Expanded
The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (TSBPA) is pleased to announce thatHB-2217 was approved by the Texas Legislature. The Texas State Board initiated this legislation, which expands the scholarship for fifth-year accounting students to all Texas accounting students who have completed 15 semester hours of upper-level accounting coursework. The scholarship application and more information will be available on our website under the "Scholarship" tab. A special thanks to Representative Angie Button and Senator Charles Perry for sponsoring this legislation. The effective date is to be determined.

September 6, 2022
Individual License Fee Increase
As a result of the Board's projected revenue, expenditures, and fund balances, modest fee increases are necessary to maintain the same level of operations for Texas licensees. Effective September 1, 2022, the annual individual license fee will increase from $70 to $85 (includes $10 scholarship fee). All other fees will remain the same. The Board has not increased fees for licensees since September of 2019 and in 2021 the overall license renewal fee was reduced. The Board is self-sustaining. All direct and indirect costs must be paid from what it collects in license renewal fees, firm registrations, exam fees, sponsor registrations, and other collections.
Your individual fees may vary depending on your specific circumstances, the timing of your previous payments, and your current status with the Board. Please refer to Online Services for Individuals to check your specific status.


August 9, 2022
Firm License Renewals due September 30, 2022 can now be paid Online
Use Online Services for Firms to manage all phases of the annual renewal process.

August 9, 2022
Individual License Renewals due September 30, 2022 can now be paid Online
Use Online Services for Individuals to manage all phases of the annual renewal process.
 
April 4, 2022
Fingerprinting Exemptions
The deadline for Texas CPAs to complete the fingerprint-based background check is August 31, 2022. Texas CPAs residing outside of the state and Texas CPAs that have a CPE exemption are still required to be fingerprinted. The only exemption from fingerprinting is to be eligible for and claim a retired or disabled license status with the Board prior to the August 31, 2022 deadline.
To check your fingerprinting status or learn how to complete this requirement, simply follow the instructions on your account page after logging into Online Services on the TSBPA website. Please refer to the Frequently Asked Questions page for more information.



September 1, 2021

Fingerprint-Based Background Check Updates
If you have not already completed the fingerprint-based background check, Senate Bill 297 extended the deadline for Texas CPAs to August 31, 2022.
Licensees who hold the retired or disabled status with the Board do not need to get fingerprinted, unless they seek reinstatement.
To check your fingerprinting status or learn how to complete this requirement, simply follow the instructions on your account page after logging into Online Services on the TSBPA website. Please refer to the Frequently Asked Questions page for more information.
 

 

August 25, 2020

• We've Moved!
to  505 E. Huntland Drive, Suite 380 Austin, TX 78752 Contact Information



 
  Online Services  
Exam Candidate
LOGIN
Individual Licensee
LOGIN
Firm
LOGIN


Recent Publications
History of the Act
Board Report

Important Dates
Next Board Meeting:
   March 21, 2024   
Calendar

Statistics
CBT Uniform CPA Examination

Accountants Confidential Assistance Network (ACAN)
ACAN is a statutory peer assistance program specifically dedicated to helping Texas CPAs, CPA candidates and accounting students.
sidebar image  Follow us
Twitter  Facebook

Texas.gov
Trail Statewide Search
Texas Homeland Security
Where The Money Goes